Butter Knife 

Today, tonight.
Promises, all lies.
A kiss and a butter knife,
I shouldn’t spoil the butter knife.

A gust of wind,
Hot summer afternoon.
Swirling blades of cooler,
That air I can’t breathe, heavenly poison.

Silence and the music,
Darkness and scattered light.
Blood rushing in my two feet, cozy.
I’m right here, in this moment, unconscious.

Far away, a train hoots.
Shut the door, I can’t move.
I gasp, coming out of water, to life.
Waves still splashing on my back, therapeutic.

Undesirable,
Dreamy unconsciousness,
I want to sleep for a while.

Leave a Reply

